A letter from a friend living through the Syrian massacre


 Hello dear, How are you? I also miss you so much.

I was very happy when I got your email. And I am happyier to hear that you are doing well in work, you deserve everything you get because you are a hardworking person and honestly I am proud of you.

My family and I are still alive. Things are going along, day by day. Everyday we wonder if our village will be shelled or not? and if our village was shelled, will the missile hit us, our neighbors, or will it hit our cows in the farm? The situation here is like a lottery of a special kind. A lottery of death. Death that comes by shelling, being shot near a barricade or by a raid carried out by our “brave army.”

We might be doing better than others, we are still able to grow some vegetables in our land, and I still go to the factory I am working in, though it closes most of the time, but it is better than nothing. 10 days ago they stormed a nearby village, they killed, burnt, stole and destroyed. We thought we will be next but they did not continue to our village.

By the way, I bought a motorcycle before 2 months and I am very happy to drive it everywhere, it is not safe to drive my car anymore because thieves from both sides will steal it. I might develop more and buy a horse if there is no more gasoline in Syria..

We still have electricity and other materials although everything is prohibitively expensive. The ghost of death is haunting everyone; other than that we are fine.

Take care of yourself and don’t come to Syria before the status cue of madness ends. And don’t come even in the first phase after the revolution because a human here is very cheap, and what you see on news is nothing compared to what is really going on. However, the picture is not all dark, there are some bright lucid spots here and there. Many people are helping the displaced from any area without hesitation, others are doing everything in their capacity to help the people in need. In our house there is a room that welcomes any displaced family, the room is never empty.

Till when we will stay like this? I don’t know. But what I know if we remained alive and I saw you again one day after the victory of the revolution I will tell you many many stories. Every Syrian lived through this massacre have a story.

M. and his family are leaving to Egypt, they are fine. F. had a scholarship to study music in Spain, he talked to me two days ago.

How I miss the lovely days when you, me and A. were together, both of you are my soul mates.

I talked too much, enough.

Always write to me.

O.

About Hummingbird

Feels strange when I talk about myself. It is just me.
This entry was posted in Human Rights, Syria and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

