Dreams of an ancient knight


When I was sixteen years old, I discovered a small Arabic poetry book written by Mr. Gazi Al-Qusaibi entitled “Poems I admire”, and it was one of the rare books in Arabic that made a wild and angry teenage girl reads poetry and actually enjoys it a lot. I even memorized each and every poem no matter how long or hard it was.

In this book, the writer gathers a beautiful bouquet of poems by great Arab poets belong to different eras, and analyzeses them in smooth and interesting style. Each poem gains an undeniable place in my memory, and no matter how many years pass, this book remains one of my favorite books I ever read.

In 2008 I was searching among my old books and I found it. A light bulb illuminated in my head, and I thought: why not trying to translate the poems? After all I am a literature graduate and continued my post-graduate studies in translation. Well, I only translated one, but it was worth translating.

Just yesterday I remembered an old blog once created by a young girl, I logged into it and was very happy to find the translated poem, so I will post it here again, for me, to remind me of old passions and dreams I dropped along the way of living here.

The poet Salah Abd-Alsaboor صلاح عبد الصبور, one of his greatest poems “Ahlaam Alfares Alkadeem” or “Dreams of an ancient knight.” It is a love poem mixed by the harsh reality in the modern world faced by every human being. I believe that when you read this poem you will come face to face with the following questions: Can love save your soul from the grinding everyday routine? Can love keep your dignity intact while facing the daily battle of earning you living? For me the question was: can love keeps me satisfied in my own skin, warm and still despite the “always around” disappointments in life?

Dreams of an ancient Knight        أحلام الفارس القديم

-1-

If the two of us were tree boughs   لو أننا كنّا كغصني شجرة

The sun nursed our veins together   الشمس أرضعت عروقنا معاً

And morning dews sate our thirst together   والفجر روانا ندي معاً

Then we flourish greener and taller   ثم اصطبغنا خضرة مزدهرة

Cuddling together   حين استطلنا فاعتنقنا أذرعا

At spring, we wear our colorful wears   وفي الربيع نكتسي ثيابنا الملونه

When fall comes, we strip bare naked   وفي الخريف نخلع الثياب نعري بدنا

We take a shower bath in winter   ونستحم في الشتا يدفئنا حنوّنا

With our kindliness keeping us warm

-2-

If the two of us were a twin sea waves   لو أننا كنا موجتين توأمين

Purified from sand and shells   صفّيتا من الرمال والمحار

Crowned with a mold of daylight and foam   توّجتا سبيكة من الرمال والمحّار

Surrendered to the tides أسلمتا العنان للتيار

While taking us from cradle to grave   يدفعنا من مهدنا للحدنا معاً

Both, in a chanting dance   في مشية راقصة مدندنة

A gentle cloud absorbs us   تشربنا سحابة رقيقة

And thaws under a sweet and friendly sunny smile   تذوب تحت ثغر شمس حلوة رقيقة

Then we return back as a twin waves   ثم نعود موجتين توأمين

Surrendering to the tides   أسلمتا العنان للتيار

In an eternal cycle   في دورة إلى الأبد

From seas to heavens   من البحار للسماء

From heavens to seas   من السماء للبحار

-3-

If the two of us were a neighboring stars   لو أننا كنا نجيمتين جارتين

Rising from the same veranda   من شرفة واحدة مطلعنا

Sleeping in the same cloud   في غيمة واحدة مضجعنا

Shining for lovers and wanderers   نضي للعشاق وحدهم وللمسافرين

Lightning up their way to love and passion lands   نحو ديار العشق والمحبة

Shining for those who burnt the midnight oil   وللحزانى الساهرين الحافظين موثق الأحبة

For the blues

For love vows keepers

And when time sets down   وحين يأفل الزمان ياحبيبتي

Then my love,

We shall set down too   يدركنا الأفول

And our immense love fades as we fade   وينطفي غرامنا الكبير بانطفائنا

God will resurrect us as two pearls   يبعثنا الإله في مسارب الجنان درتين

Among many pebbles   بين حصي كثير

When an angel sees us as he crosses our path   وقد يرانا ملك إذ يعبر السبيل

He will bend over us   فينحني حين نشد عينه إلى صفائنا

For our fineness will catch his sight

He will pick us up   يلقطنا يمسحنا في ريشه

Rub us in his feathers

Then toss us toward the sacred road   يرشقنا في المفرق الطهور

-4-

If the two of us were a mile sea gull wings   لو أننا كنّا جناحي نورس رقيق

So soft, never leave the gulf   وناعم لايبرح المضيق

Flies above ships   محلّق على ذؤابات السفن

Bringing glad tiding to the sailor   يبشّر الملاّح بالوصول

Of arrival safe and sound

Awakes the yearning to love ones and homeland   ويوقظ الحنين للأحباب والوطن

His beak feeds from breeze   منقاره يقتات بالنسيم

And drinks from clouds sweat   ويرتوي من عرق الغيوم

When the night loosen its veil   وحينما يجّن ليل البحر يطوينا معاً…معاً

On the two of us…together

He sleeps on an old sail   ثم ينام فوق قلع مركب قديم

Accompanies the tired sailors   يؤانس البحارة الذين ارهقوا بغربة الديار

Who stayed far away for far too long

And they keep his company   ويؤنسون خوفه وحيرته

Easing his fear and bewilderment

With songs and poems بالشدو والأشعار

With playing the flute والنفخ في المزمار

If we… لو أننا

But if we… لو أننا

And if we… لو أننا

How cruel “if” is   وآه من قسوة “لو”

My charm,   يافتنتي، إذا افتتحنا بالمنى كلامنا

When our words begin with it

But if we…   لكننا

O, how cruel “But” is   وآه من قسوتها لكننا

For its swirled tangled letters tell us   لأنها تقول في حروفها الملفوفة المشتبكة

About our denial of the traces   بأننا ننكر ما

Left in us by days   خلفّت الأيام في نفوسنا

We wish to take it off   نوّد لو نخلعه

We wish to forget   نوّد لو ننساه

We wish to push it back   نوّد لو نعيده لرحم الحياة

Into life’s womb

I am crippled   لكنني يافتنتي مجرّب قعيد

My charm,

Drunk of life

I am walking on life’s sidewalk   على رصيف عالم يموج بالتخليط والقمامة

Filled with shuffle and dirt

A hideous world   كون خلا من الوسامه

Gave me darkness and glumness   أكسبني التعتيم والجهامة

From the moment I fell in it   حين سقطت فوقه

In the break of youth   في مطلع الصبا

In the good old days   قد كنت فيما فات من أيام

My charm,   يافتنتي محارباً صلباً وفارساً همام

I used to be a tough warrior

And a brave knight

Before my heart stepped on by feet   من قبل أن تدوس في فؤادي الأقدام

Before I was whipped with suns and frost   من قبل أن تجلدني الشموس والصقيع

Before my refine dignity was slapped   لكي تذلّ كبريائي الرفيع

I used to live in an eternal spring   كنت أعيش في ربيع خالد، أيُّ ربيع

A chef d’oeuvre

When I cried  وكنت ان بكيت هزّني البكاء

My tears stir my heart

And when I felt sad  وكنت عندما أحس بالرثاء

For the feeble  للبؤساء الضعفاء

I wish that I could feed them from my agitating heart  أود لو اطعمتهم من قلبي الوجيع

I wish that I would burn  وكنت عندما أرى المحيرين الضائعين

I wish that I would shine in the night   التائهين في الظلام

For the lost ones  أود لو يحرقني ضياعهم، أود لو أضئ

For those who were torn apart   وكنت غن ضحكت صافياً، كأنني غدير

And when I laughed guileless like a stream  يفتر عن ظل النجوم وجهه الوضيء

My glowing face would cover the shadowy stars

What came into the daring knight?   ماذا جرى للفارس الهمام؟

To leave his heart  انخلع القلب وولى هارباً بلا زمام

To run without a fight  وانكسرت قوادم الأحلام

To shatter his dreamy life

Peace  يامن يدل خطوتي على طريق الدمعة البريئة

To you who pave my way toward innocent tears  يامن يدل خطوتي على طريق الضحكة البريئة

Peace  لك السلام

To you who pave my way toward innocent giggles  لك السلام

No one but you  لا ليس غير أنت من يعيدني للفارس القديم

Can make me a knight

Without a price  دون حساب الربح والخسارة

Without gain or loss  دون ثمن

My love…  صافية أراك ياحبيبتي

You’re so pure

As if you lived your life outside time   كانما كبرت خارج الزمن

And when we met   وعندما التقينا ياحبيبتي

I never thought that we will stay together  أيقنت أننا

I was sure  مفترقان

That I will stand still in my place alone  وأنني سوف اظل واقفاً بلا مكان

But your gentle love brought me back  لو لم يعدني حبك الرقيق للطهارة

To the path of purity

Then we knew love like tree boughs  فنعرف الحب كغصني شجرة

Like twin sea waves  كموجتين توأمين

Like neighboring stars  كنجميتين جارتين

Like wings of a mile sea gull  كجناحي نورس رقيق

Then, we will never be apart  عندئذ لن نفترق

For one path will bring us together  يضمنا معاً طريق

On one road we will journey together  يضمنا معاً طريق

About Hummingbird

Feels strange when I talk about myself. It is just me.
This entry was posted in Literature and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

