Can a woman…autocomplete sexism


autocomplete-sexism4

Today I read a small article about campaign idea from UN Women using real suggested search terms from Google’s autocomplete feature. I started using use English words and let Google search engine complete my sentences based on what usually people search which reflects their opinions. So I started with: Women must…

The results I got were

–         Women must haves.

–         Women must be silent.

–         Women must be silent in church.

–         Women must submit to men.

The results I got for women must not… were the following:

–         Women must not teach.

–         Women must not preach.

–         Women not be educated.

–         Women must not speak in church.

But I thought to use Arabic this time, well my hopes were not high considering the situation of women in Middle East. In a patriarchal society, most of women must be related to men, and so does in the virtual society. Most of the searches in Arabic for women need or women want were completed by: a man. I recalled that a while ago, I read that someone Arabic used: Can a women… (هل يجوز للمرأة…) and the results were:

–         Can a woman suck her husband’s ****

–         Can a woman swallow the husband’s coming?

–         Can a woman slaughter (probably a sheep)?

–         Can a woman drink a man’s water? (I don’t know what the hell that means!)

Well, these were the suggested autocompletes by Google. You don’t want to know the search results were for that question.

Read the original article here: http://www.adweek.com/adfreak/powerful-ads-use-real-google-searches-show-scope-sexism-worldwide-153235

About Hummingbird

Feels strange when I talk about myself. It is just me.
This entry was posted in Human Rights and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Can a woman…autocomplete sexism

  1. Search for “Men must” turned up ….be needed, read books and fight!

    • Hummingbird says:

      Men must fight! fight what? They fought in wars during the entire history of humanity.
      I tried it in Arabic, two were: can a man shave his body, can a man wear white gold! the rest is sexual content. I believe we have a serious issue in this regard, and I need to gather my strength to write an article in Arabic and hope no one would chase me with torches and pitchforks!

Leave a Reply

