In Memory of Hamza Bakkour


Tarek Tuma’s portrait of Hamza Bakkour, the 13-year-old boy shot in the face during a siege in Homs, February 2012.

Tarek Tuma’s portrait of Hamza Bakkour, the 13-year-old boy shot in the face during a siege in Homs, February 2012.

I didn’t recall when 13 year old Hamza Bakkour went through his unimaginable and unbearable agony. He was hit by a missile launched by Assad thugs on his besieged neighborhood Baba Amr in Homs. He bled for many many hours to death as doctors couldn’t do much for his ripped off lower jaw and throat.

For a month, the picture of this innocent boy was present in my mind. In the last several days, I had a strong urge to write about him. Just when I started to write this post I read the exact date of his passing, it was the 5th of February 2012. I believe that it must be his spirit poking me all this time. I like to believe that a person’s presence becomes stronger during the time of his/her perish.

It is almost one year as one story out of thousands of gruesome crimes against humanity committed by Bashar Assad thugs, went public. Till today this boy’s stolen life is still screaming for justice.

In memory of Hamza Bakkour’s precious 13 years among the living. In the memory of all Syrian children who lost and still losing their childhoods.

The following is a video for Hamza in his last hours in the hospital. The last picture is for the sweet boy at a time he thought that he will grow up.

 

الصور_رد-_عيآر_كانوا_8

About Hummingbird

Feels strange when I talk about myself. It is just me.
This entry was posted in Human Rights, Syria and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to In Memory of Hamza Bakkour

  1. Dear darling Hamza,
    Your story brings me grief, as I imagine your suffering and confusion during your last hours on earth. Everyone deserves to be at peace as they slip away, and that should be after a long and wonderful life.
    My own son- age 13 like you – is doing what you should be doing on this very day; enjoying his friends in the bright sunshine of a beautiful day.
    You deserved better. You deserved life. You deserved not to suffer ….dare Hamza…your story is reaching hearts everywhere.
    Bless you…and if there is life for you still…in a better place…then know that there are good people who care.
    My heart continues to be broken by the state of our world. Your face is etched in my heart and soul forever.
    Kim

  2. Jennifer says:

    I pray for you, Hamza. I’m sobbing, uncontrollably for you as if you were my own baby boy. I have imagined your thoughts and cannot even begin to tell you how sorry I am that you had to endure so much pain and suffering. Your death shouldn’t be forgotten.

  3. Azhar says:

    This is one of the most horrific images I’ve seen. May Allah grant him the highest places in Jannah.

Leave a Reply

