I am Joseph, Father


Giovanni_Andrea_de_Ferrari_-_'Joseph's_Coat_Brought_to_Jacob',_oil_on_canvas,_c._1640,_El_Paso_Museum_of_Art

Giovanni Andrea de Ferrari – ‘Joseph’s Coat Brought to Jacob’

This is a poem written by great Palestinian poet Mahmoud Darwish. I translated it here. Like Joseph, we Syrians are deserted by the world. This poem is about being hated, maltreated and deserted by those you consider your brothers and sisters. 

 

I am Joseph, Father

My brothers do not love me

They don’t want me among them

They assault me, throw stones at me

They word me

They want me to die so they can praise me

They threw me outside the field

They poisoned my grapes, father

They broke my toys, father

When the breeze passed and played with my hair

They were jealous, raged at me and raged at you

What did I do to them father?

Butterflies landed on my shoulders

Ears lent on me

Birds rested on my palms

What did I do father?

And why me?

You named me Joseph

They dropped me in the well, and blamed it on the wolf

The wolf has more mercy than my brothers

Father, did I harm anyone when I said:

I saw 11 planets, and the sun and the moon, I saw them all kneeling down before me?

About Hummingbird

Feels strange when I talk about myself. It is just me.
This entry was posted in Literature and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

